Crossing – HORRSE


Honeyed and heartfelt, pretty and thorned, the dreamy arpeggios and lambent twinkle of ‘Queen of Roses’ frame a reflection on identity with a sure and soft touch, redolent of Sufjan Stevens at his most sharp and serene. In its unhurried lollop, ‘You’re a Ghost’ embellishes beatific folk with atmospheric shading, pitched between the campfire, the mysteries of the psyche and the great beyond. The insistent thrum and blossoming chorus of ‘Who Are You’ carry deepening reflections on identity, while ‘Devil in the Flesh’ utilises old-time gothic-folk imagery to illuminate modern themes and feelings: political corruption, apocalyptic anxieties.

Crossing is about liberating oneself from one’s past to make room for the future. I set out to learn some things about myself, the world, and my place in it, but in making Crossing I’ve learned more than I could have ever wished for. Writing music, making art, and expressing yourself together with other people is a magical thing, and a powerful tool to help us put things into perspective and, if necessary, let go. This E.P. is the result of a lot of people coming together with their own individual strengths and good intentions, and we hope that through Crossing we can pass at least some of it on to you.” – HORRSE

1    Queen of Roses
2    You’re A Ghost
3    Who Are You
4    Devil in the Flesh

Released on the following formats:
Digitally on all major platforms (Spotify, Apple Music, etc.). You can check it out on the player below.

Other products by artist

Related products