Impressions – Eli Tausen á Lava


Eli Tausen á Lava invites you to disconnect from the constant buzz of the world and step into the lingering minimal atmospheres of Impressions, his debut album, which is set to be released on the 24th of July 2020 through the Faroese record label TUTL.

Impressions provides its listeners with a neutral space to experience music without being told what to feel. The album consists of three thematically related piano works: In Fog, Ripples and Bells. They are separate works but have more similarities than differences: Repeating and overlapping patterns characterize all three works, and they stay in the same key for the entirety of their durations. Still, they are continuously changing — albeit very slowly.

The composition of In Fog, Ripples and Bells was heavily influenced by the concept of letting go and allowing the pieces to take shape by themselves. Eli used Brian Eno and Peter Schmidt’s creativity-inducing cards, Oblique Strategies, extensively during the composition process.

Impressions came into being during the initial stages of the COVID-19 pandemic. The need to disconnect from the constant bombardment of information about the pandemic shaped the album, which in a way came to embody the suspended world humanity suddenly found itself in.

Composition, performance, production and cover art by Eli Tausen á Lava

Mastered by Hans Poulsen at IntroVers Studio

This album was made with the support of Koda-Føroyar Grunnurin and Gramex Tónleikarar.

Further information: 
[email protected]

1    In Fog: Section I
2    In Fog: Section II
3    In Fog: Section III
4    In Fog: Section IV
5    Ripples: Section I
6    Ripples: Section II
7    Bells: Section I
8    Bells: Section II

Released on the following formats:
Digitally on all major platforms (Spotify, Apple Music, etc.). You can check it out on the player below.

Other products by artist

Related products