Gult myrkur – Guðrið Hansdóttir


Five years on from her last record, Guðrið Hansdóttir, a leading Faroese singer songwriter, has returned with a powerful, personal and emotional album titled “Gult myrkur” (Yellow Darkness). Guðrið has been performing and recording her own music since the millennium and has never shied away from beating her own path. On her new album she opens up an eerie universe of soundscapes illuminated by her warm, charismatic vocals, and by soft acoustics and light electronic rhythms.

Guðrið’s passion for poetry led her to the doorstep of Lív María Róadóttir Jæger, a Faroese poet who happily agreed to collaborate on the album. Lív invaluably contributes words to all nine songs.

I´m so happy to have Lív onboard; she really understands my ideas, listens, reflects and writes the most beautiful poetry in her own unique way. (Guðrið Hansdóttir)

Gult myrkur is a ray of light in darkness; with songs about daily life, about sorrow and loss and young love and happiness.

1    Á
2    Blátt myrkur
3    Hús
4    Træ
5    Appelsin
6    Barn
7    T-shirt
8    Gult myrkur
9    Ljós

Released on the following formats
As LP, CD and digitally on all major platforms (Spotify, Apple Music, etc.). You can check it out with this link:


All songs written by Guðrið Hansdóttir and Lív Maria Róadóttir Jæger

except for ‘I remember’/’Appilsin’ written by Molly Drake (Faroese lyrics by Lív Maria Róadóttir Jæger)

Arranged by Guðrið Hansdóttir, Mikael Blak and Janus Rasmussen

String and choir arrangement by Tróndur Bogason

Recorded and engineered by Theodor Kapnas at Studio Bloch, Tórshavn

Additional recordings by Janus Rasmussen, Sakaris Emil Joensen and Tom Hannay at E7 studio, Reykjavík

Additional recordings by Benjamin Petersen and Mikael Blak at Studio Bunkarin, Tórshavn

String recording engineer: Hafsteinn Þráinnsson

Mixed by Janus Rasmussen at E7 studio Reykjavík

Mastered by Zino Mikorey

Artwork and design by Heiðrik á Heygum

Photos by Gwenaëll Akira Helmsdal Carré

Musicians: Guðrið Hansdóttir, Mikael Blak, Janus Rasmussen, Sakaris Emil Joensen, Matthias Kapnas, Benjamin Petersen, Fróði Hansen, Bjarki Hansen, Eivør Pálsdóttir, Hans Marius Ziska, Greta Svabo Bech, KATA, Sigrún Hardardóttir, Sigrún Kristbjørg Jónsdóttir, Karl James Pestka, Unnur Jónsdóttir and Tom Hanney

Additional information



Other products by artist

Related products