Seeker – Dóttir

kr. 127

SKU: HJF556 Categories: , Tag:


Danish/Faroese alternative rock artist DÓTTIR has spent the better half of 2018 laying down tracks for her debut album “Seeker”, besides playing gigs in Denmark and the Faroe Islands. Her latest EP “Division” was a dedication to her roots in the Faroe Islands and the feeling of being divided between two cultures. Growing up in Denmark while longing for the Atlantic Islands, the existential meaning of home has been a central theme in her work, and this is also reflected in her music when DÓTTIR sings in both Faroese and English. The lyrical universe in “Seeker” symbolises a search for identity, knowledge, meaning, understanding, answers, love and retreat when life becomes too difficult. They are two very personal piecesand deal with human themes that everyone can relate to – that is precisely the purpose of DÓTTIR’s music.

The sound on Division is a mountain landscape that takes the listener on a dynamic, wondrous and unexpected journey to the North. The music can be described as alternative Nordic rock, moving between intimate and powerful passages in a mythical, captivating and introspective universe. In “Seeker”, DÓTTIR extends this audio image to both Faroese and English, where she explores new areas with a touch of 90’s grunge, desert rock, psychedelic rock and anthems from the traditional Faroese singing tradition. It goes on a dark journey into the mind, opening the listener up to hope and redemption. The synergy between the drone–‐bass, shamanic drums and dreamy electric guitar forms a springboard for the lean phrases and melodies in her captivating vocals.



1. Vitan

2. Queen of Darkness

3. Indigo Child

4. Speak (Like an Angel)

5. Castle

6. Imago

7. Desert Twig

8. Puzzle/Gáta

9. Creature

10. Waves


Released on the following formats:

“Seeker” is released on LP (as pre-order until print is finished) as well as digitally on all major platforms (Spotify, Apple Music, etc.).

Check out the record on the player below where you can hear one full song (Queen of Darkness) and snippets of the rest.



All songs written and composed by DÓTTIR. Song 4 written by Lea Christiane Nielsen. Produced and Engineered by Graham Sowerby.

Mixed by Tommy Kamp Vestergaard.

Mastered by Frederik Brandt Jakobsen.

Artwork by Kirstin Helgadóttir.

Recorded at The Royal Academy of Music.

Published by TUTL Records.

DÓTTIR: vocal, guitars, percussion and piano.

Alessio Paterno: bass.

Graham Sowerby: drums (song 1, 2, 6, 8 & 9), percussion, backing vocals (song 6 & 7) and piano.

Aske Drost: guitars (song 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 9 & 10) and backing vocals (song 9).

Rasmus Juul: drums and percussion (song 3, 5 & 10).

Related products