Onki úrslit at finna.
Search by



“Vaerelden er vor Faengsel
i Livet vi er doemt”

Heavy music is only as heavy as its subject matter and will to experiment. This is the nexus point of new Faroese quintet ÓTTI. Industrial marches join with melancholic, angelic singing, ambient segments, and spacey psychedelia are followed by gloomy doom metal passages, heavy and emotional sounds semper in motu.

Chiefly spearheaded by Eyðun í Geil Hvannastein, a passionate musician from the Faroese metal scene, ÓTTI is undeniably a band whose modus operandi goes beyond contemporary music making. The end result is an authentic antithesis of stark sounds coming from the instruments and spiritual reveries pouring from the cathartic intonation of the hymnal vocals, singing in broken Danish language, a feature seldomly appearing among younger generations on The Faroe Islands.

The seeds for the concept of ÓTTI were already planted when Eyðun was still playing in his previous band: “Actually, the drummer in the previous band I was playing in – the now defunct Reduced To Ash – suggested the bandname. It seemed to fit well with the concept we were discussing at the time; the hopeless Faroese weather, being rainy and windy with bipolar seasons all year round, religious oppression, depression – the perfect setup to write heavy, experimental, introverted soundscapes”. When the band ceased its activities, the two went separate ways, but Eyðun kept on pursuing the concept and thus ÓTTI started to shape itself.

ÓTTI is not a comfort zone and was never meant to be one. The heavy workload of this atmospheric sludge-prog vessel of five is now prepared to move forward, out from the realms of abstract and into the physical world. The band will be releasing a batch of singles leading up to their debut, self-titled full-length release, which eventually will see a live-format on stage.

ÓTTI Line-up:

Eyðun í Geil Hvannastein (guitars, vocals)
Harald í Kálvalíð (guitars, vocals)
Sigmar Jónasson (bass, vocals)
Esmar Joensen (keyboards)
Sigurd Justinussen (drums)



“I sjaelen gror” (TUTL 2019)

“Búur” (TUTL 2020)

“I himlens dybder (TUTL 2020)

“Ótti” (TUTL 2020)


[email protected]


Music video for “I Sjaelen Gror”. Directed by Jónsvein Mikkelsen.