Yggdrasil Release in Dímun

May 10, 2019

Renowned Faroese ethnic/jazz band Yggdrasil, founded by Kristian Blak, in now ready with a new release!

The release is called Masques – Quatre Tempéraments avec Ouverture, and the music is based on musical forms of Renaissance music, particularly the Masques, a form of festive courtly entertainment that flourished in 16th- and early 17th-century Europe.

As if this isn’t interesting enough in itself, the release concert for this release will be on the island of Dímun, the smallest inhibited island of the Faroe Islands. The island has only 5 inhabitants, and is normally only reached by helicopter. Now Dímun, for the first time, will be the venue for the release concert with Yggdrasil. The release concert will take place on Dímun on the 11th and 12th of May.

On Masques all compositions and arrangements are by Kristian Blak, who also plays the piano on the release. The other musicians on the release are: Angelika Nielsen (violin), Johan Hentze (trumpet), Villu Veski (saxophone), Dávur Juul Magnussen (trombone), Heðin Ziska Davidsen (guitar), Mikael Blak (bass), Brandur Jacobsen (drums) and James Goodwin on drums and percussion.

The Danish artist Anders Hjuler has made the artwork for the release. The four masques by Hjuler and Blak represent the four temperaments. These refer to a proto-psychological theory that suggests that there are four fundamental personality types: melancholic, choleric, phlegmatic and sanguine.

Five the first tracks on the release are based upon songs of the Renaissance by composers like Hans Neusiedler and Giovanni Gastoldi. The last five tracks are new compositions by Yggdrasil, made with inspiration from the musical forms of the Renaissance.

A second release concert will be in the Nordic House of the Faroe Islands on 21st of June. The digital release of the record will also be in connection with this concert.

To buy the record please follow the link below, or visit us in the TUTL shop on Tórshavn Main Street.

Yggdrasil concerts summer 2018

May 11-12 DÍMUN, Faroe Islands (1st Release concert)
May 21-26 BEIJING, China (duo concerts)

June 21 NORÐURLANDAHÚSIÐ, Faroe Islands (2nd Release concert)

July 19 (3 p.m.)  NORÐURLANDAHÚSIÐ, Faroe Islands
July 19 (8 p.m.)  FUGLAFJØRÐUR, Faroe Islands
July 20 (7 p.m.) SALT, Faroe Islands
July 21 (9 p.m.)  MYKINES, Faroe Islands
July 24 (1 p.m.) CONCERTO GROTTO, Faroe Islands
July 25 (4 p.m.) GJÓGV,  Faroe Islands
July 25 (6 p.m.) GJÓGV, Faroe Islands
July 28 REINSARÍIÐ, Faroe Islands
July 29 REINSARÍIÐ, Faroe Islands

August 12 (4 p.m.) LISTASAVN FØROYA, Faroe Islands
August 25 (9 p.m.)  SIRKUS FØROYA, Faroe Islands
August 25 (9 p.m.)  MYKINES, Faroe Islands
August 30  KOZANI, Greece