Fonetika – BA Tónlist



About Fonetika

Fonetika is an album made by five faroese artists, each with their own artistic expression. The album is a collection of all kinds of genres ranging from classical and ambient music, to beats, soft ballads and pop/funk. Entering a delicate soundscape Líggjas’ music is set at a leisurely pace, reeling you in with simplistic piano melodies and vocals floating around in the air. Katrina’s music is playful, organic and experimental, combining soft vocals and light-hearted melodies with odd-time rhythms and peculiar sounding sequences. Sissal’s music can be described as a result of raw and sincere musical composition. The vocals are crucial for her artistry as is evident in her use of effects in her music. With a classical approach, Jákup’s music is ominous and intense while conveying a battle between instruments that is led by a soulful voice. Through his usage of electronical manipulation, Per’s music demonstrates the powers of minimalistic melodies and exhibits an ambient and exploring atmosphere.


1. Sjósett – Líggjas Olsen
2. Leikaland – Katrina Olsen
3. Ungar Ástir – Jákup Veyhe, Sissal Grækarisdóttir Magnusen
4. Ljóðskýggj – Sissal Grækarisdóttir Magnusen
5. Til tvílembuna – Jákup Veyhe
6. Tey bíða – Sissal Grækarisdóttir Magnusen
7. Ex Nihilo – Per Ingvaldur Højgaard Petersen
8. Tú gert ikki nógv burturúr – Sissal Grækarisdóttir Magnusen
9. Við vatnið – Sissal Grækarisdóttir Magnusen
10. 5+1 – Jákup Veyhe
11. Klepri – Líggjas Olsen
12. Spælidós – Katrina Olsen

Released on the following formats:
Digitally on all major platforms (Spotify, Apple Music, etc.). You can check it out with this link:

About the Artists

BA Tónlist is a group of artists who have worked together on a diverse album called FONETIKA. The album is an academical project made as a represention of their artistry. BA Tónlist consists of 5 Faroese artists:

Katrina Olsen
Katrina is a Faroese singer, songwriter and saxophonist. She started creating songs at
seventeen when she got into the music high school in Thorshavn as a songwriter. Since then she has been the lead singer in the pop/funk group Funksjón, saxophonist in DJARI and part of an acapella jazz trio called SWAY. She is now studying for a bachelor’s degree in art at Fróðskaparsetur Føroya.
Her music often includes an array of vocals and soft saxophone melodies, as she has
always had an interest in choir arrangements and has been playing the saxophone since she was a child. She enjoys odd-time rhythms, synths and exploring new sounds, all of which are expressed in her music.

Sissal Grækarisdóttir Magnusen
Sissal is a singer, musician and songwriter. Using her voice as her main instrument, she likes to try out different genres and experiment vocally to see where the voice can go and how singing can be expressed in different ways.
In 2018 she released her first album titled “A Lonely Chair With a View”, which was
made possible working with her four bandmates. On that album she wrote the lyrics and made vocal melodies – while arranging was done by all five.
Sissal is a soulful singer who started singing as a small child and has built on her skill ever since. She has a distinct voice and a tendency to lean towards slow, dark and heartfelt music, telling a story. Whether it is soul, jazz, pop, indie, or prog, she will likely try it out and make her own version.

Líggjas Olsen
Líggjas plays piano and synths, sings and is a composer of music for films, documentaries as well as having his own project called Frostfelt in which he releases songs in a more singer songwriter style. His music can be described as dreamy, melodic and emotional. Líggjas has also produced music for other artists (Rebekka Petersen, Guðrið Hansdóttir) as well as being a synth player and singer in various groups on the Faroe Islands.

Jákup Veyhe
Jákup Veyhe’s former experiences with performing music have mostly been as part of a choir, or as a comedic singer. However, since he started at BA Music, he has worked almost entirely on score/sheet music. Furthermore, in the last six months, he has primarily worked on arranging string quartet pieces, which can be heard in his pieces, on the edition, FONETIKA.

Per Ingvaldur Højgaard Petersen
Born and raised in Tórshavn, the capital of the Faroe Islands, Per started playing brass instruments (trompet, cornet, baritone, alt) bassguitar and drums at the age of 9. During highschool he became a professional musician. He taught drums and piano at Tórshavnar Kvøld- og ungdómsskúla from 2013-19 and also worked as a substitute teacher in Tórshavnar, Runavíkar, Vága and Klaksvíkar Musikskúla. He currently studies music as part of the art education (Listaútbúgvingin BA) at the University of the Faroe Islands.
His style is somehow Ambient. Although he has done a shit load of beats mainly with sampling technique, moving from hip hop to electronica to techno to ambient and so forth. His first solo release is a piano piece played by Mattias Kapnas and himself where the sonic journey takes the
listener through the thought of creative creation. The different ambient places in the piece are named by the four different stages in Graham Wallas theory af creativity from his work, The Art of

His work includes playing as well as writing, arranging, producing and mixing. He has worked on a variety of different music styles and genres such as Ambient, Black Metal, Classical, Country, Folk, Hip Hop, Rock, Pop, Jazz etc. as a studio musician, in live performances, in theatre, in
movies and sound installations. As a touring musician he has played in many different parts of the world such as all of the nordic countries, South Africa, India, Germany, Poland, Austria, Switzerland, Netherlands, USA, Greenland, Russia and many more.

Artists he has worked with:
Jakku, Konni Kass, Eivør, Teitur, Knút Háberg Eysturstein, Guðrið Hansdóttir, Silvurdrongur, Bendar Spónir, Orka, Ave, The Absent Silver King, Ygdrasil, Tjant, Ævintýraferðin, Byrta, Sakaris, Lyon, Hans Andrias, Marius DC, Marius Ziska, Kristian Blak, Tamara, Lea Kampmann, Marianna Nagata, Heiðrik, Svartmálm, FSO (Faroese National Symphony Orchestra), Annika Hoydal, Anders Riis, Jógvan Joensen, Gurðun & Bartal, & Bartal, and more.


Composers and Authors

Katrina Olsen

(author, composer on track 2, 12)

Líggjas Olsen

(author, composer on track 1, 11)

Jákup Veyhe

(composer on track 3, 5, 9)

Sissal Grækarisdóttir Magnussen

(composer on track 3, 4, 6, 8 & auhtor on track 6, 8, 9)

Rebekka Petersen

(author on track 11)

Astrid Joensen

(author on track 9)


Líggjas Olsen

(vocals, piano, synths on track 1, 9, 11)

Katrina Olsen

(vocals, Saxophone, Keys on track 2, 9, 12)

Jákup Veyhe

(composer, Percussion on track 3, 5, 9, 10)

Sissal Grækarisdóttir Magnussen

(vocals, piano on track 3, 4, 6, 8, 9)

Per Ingvaldur Højgaard Petersen

(drums, Percussion, Programming on track 2, 3, 4, 7, 9 12)

Ari Johannesen

(guitar, Synths, Bass on track 2, 12)

Torleik Mortensen

(bass on track 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12)

Andreas Tykjær Restorff

(Strings, vocals on track 1, 11)

Mattias Dimitris Kapnas

(piano on track 9)

Jón Festirstein

(strings on track 3, 5, 6, 9, 10)

Tóri Restorff Jacobsen

(strings on track 3, 5, 6, 9, 10)

Sámal Petersen

(strings on track 3, 5, 6, 9, 10)

Angelika Hansen

(strings on track 3, 5, 6, 9, 10)

Ólavur Olsen

(flugelhorn on track 9)

Bartal Augustinussen

(guitar on track 3)


Katrina Olsen

(production, arrangement, recordings on track 2, 12)

Líggjas Olsen

(production, arrangement, recordings on track 1, 11)

Jákup Veyhe

(production, arrangement, recordings on track 3, 5, 9)

Sissal Grækarisdóttir Magnussen

(production, arrangement, recordings on track 3, 4, 6, 8)

Per Ingvaldur Højgaard Petersen

(production, arrangement, recordings on track 7)

Hans Poulsen


Ari Johannesen

(mixing track 2 and 12)

Fred Ruddick


Other products by artist

Related products